Harold's Frances Cowley's Dill Pickles

 
(25 reviews)  

5 stars
 24 review(s)
4 stars: 
 0 review(s)
3 stars: 
 0 review(s)
2 stars: 
 0 review(s)
1 stars
 1 review(s)




Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
25 results found
Show results 1 - 25
scott mitchell
Jul 17, 2018
Verified review, this customer purchased from TexasFood.com
My very favorite pickle. I cant find them in florida and colorado so I have them shipped by the case!! They remind me of the best homemade pickles i was exposed to as a kid. Perfect Dill Pickle for me!

Advantages: Shipped within days of a phone call

Disadvantages: Wish the were readily available all over the US. I know. That unrealistic
John Miller
Feb 6, 2018
Verified review, this customer purchased from TexasFood.com
Sent as a gift. Received and packaged in time and safely. Heard from recipient that pickles were delicious and were consumed in two days!

Advantages: Great dill flavor (not mild, not overpowering). Nice size cut chunks allow for easy eating or serving.
Brenda Hand
Dec 13, 2017
I bought these as a little present for my husband and he just loves them.
Stacy
Dec 12, 2017
The perfect old fashioned pickle. Eat them plain, or use them in most anything. Burgers, salads, etc.
erik
Aug 18, 2017
Verified review, this customer purchased from TexasFood.com
These are the second best pickles in the history of the world.
Khalilah Phillips
Mar 7, 2016
Verified review, this customer purchased from TexasFood.com
Delicious pickles!!! I ordered them all the way from Chicagoland area and they were as good as the first time.

Advantages: Shipped quickly, packaged very well.

Disadvantages: I wish the sold them locally.
JBertl
Feb 15, 2015
Verified review, this customer purchased from TexasFood.com
I ordered these for my husband who loves pickles. He absolutely loved these, they are his new favorite pickle!! Great service, and quick, reasonably priced shipping, I will not hesitate to order from Texas Food again and again!
Toni
Dec 28, 2014
Verified review, this customer purchased from TexasFood.com
I am very upset that with the change in the label, there has been a change in the recipe. Why, oh why, did you stop putting the red chili peppers in the pickles? That was the icing on the proverbial pickle cake! Without the peppers, they are no longer the absolute best pickle I have ever tasted and I will not be buying them anymore. I was such a fan that I regularly purchased them 2 gallons at a time, so you're losing a good customer.
Marc Head
Dec 25, 2014
Verified review, this customer purchased from TexasFood.com
These pickles are the old cellar-style pickles of the depression era, that grandmothers in the midwest used to make in the 30s, 40s, 50s and 60s. But they are sooo much better than any cellar-style home-canned pickle you've had. The taste is amazing, with just a little heat, full dill flavor and a salty kick that knocks them out of the park. These are triple-thick slices. There's only one problem: you're not going to be able to leave them alone, and a jar, even a quart jar, won't last more than three days tops if you're like me (and three days is pushing it - I could finish a quart in a day if I had no discipline). By the way, the other varieties of Harold's Pickles are fabulous, too. But these are my favorite.

Advantages: Delicious, old-style flavor that isn't found in any other commercial pickle.
Available in quart-size jars.
Real dill, not flavoring, is used. You can see the dill and dill seeds and taste the difference.
Excellent customer service.

Disadvantages: You can eat an entire quart before you know it.
May be too salty for those on low-salt diets or those with sensitive palates - but they are fine for me and my family!
John R. Becker
Dec 1, 2014
Verified review, this customer purchased from TexasFood.com
Excellent product, fair price, and well packed.
Carla Cope
Apr 14, 2014
Verified review, this customer purchased from TexasFood.com
Too salty! I couldn't even eat them, they were so overwhelmingly salty. I tried draining them and soaking them in plain water. That helped.
Lamar Pendley
Mar 25, 2014
Verified review, this customer purchased from TexasFood.com
These are thre best Pickels I have ever had. Just like my Grandmother used to make.

Advantages: The easiest ordering process I have ever done on the internet. Always accurate.
Paula Ehlke
Mar 5, 2014
Verified review, this customer purchased from TexasFood.com
Jason was awesome when handling my order for these pickles. These are absolutely the best pickles we've ever had. We discovered them along Route 66 coming from the Balloon Festival in New Mexico on our way home to Wisconsin. We just love the cellar pickles with that little bite & crispness.

Advantages: The process of ordering them was easy & we got great service. Will do it again.

Disadvantages: However, being a distance away from you folks, there's risk in receiving them in good condition. Our last order they arrived frozen & a bottle had opened & leaked. Unfortunately you are not available to purchase directly in Wisconsin.
KENNETH D. SHERMAN
Feb 18, 2014
Verified review, this customer purchased from TexasFood.com
These are by far the best bottled pickles you can buy, and a close resemblance to pickles "out of the barrel" I grew up with; also similar to NY Jewish Deli pickles.

Advantages: great flavor, crispness, a real "snap" when you bite into one. Just a touch of heat. Satisfyingly thick-cut.

Disadvantages: none
Jamie
Jun 10, 2013
Just f...ing awesome! I'm a pickle lover and these are my new fav. Found at jungle Jim's, and my wife ordered off amazon for my birthday!

Advantages: Salty, hot, and homemade vibe!

Disadvantages: Seems to go way to fast...
John Crutchfield
May 3, 2013
Verified review, this customer purchased from TexasFood.com
These pickles are just like I remember long ago. I've sent them as gifts and everyone think they are the best they have ever eaten.

Thanks for a great product

John C.
Jerry Cooper
Mar 7, 2013
Verified review, this customer purchased from TexasFood.com
My wife and I love the Frances Crowley gourmet dill pickles. My wife's mother used to make her own hot dill pickles from garden cucumbers. They were always great on hamburgers. Now we have a way to duplicate that great taste.
Alicia Hatter
Jan 3, 2013
Frances Crowley Gourmet Dill Pickles are AMAZING!!! These pickles have home made flavor that can't be found in other store bought brands.

Advantages: These pickles taste more like home made pickles than any other I have found. They remind me of the pickles my grandmother made when I was a child. The quality and taste is unparalleled by other store bought brands. Ordering online is convenient and brings the delicious pickles straight to my doorstep.

Disadvantages: These pickles are priced higher than other store bought pickles... But the quality and flavor is well worth it in my opinion.
Barbara
I love pickles and these are by far the best I have ever had in 57 years! My son and I ate a jar in a day!
Rebecca
These pickles are so good! They are great to snack on when you need a little pick me up.
Jennifer
My kids ask for these all the time, best pickles ever!
TXVball
These pickles are lip smacking tasty and addictive! A must have on our shopping list.
Kuloo
They are the best pickles I have ever tasted. I could eat a jar in one day!! never before have I tasted a pickle so salty yet with a hint of spice. Once people try these pickles I know they will not be able to put them down
Becky
I am a major pickle lover. I found these at walmart and decided to try them. I have found the best pickles ever. I had a jar in 2 days time. love them love them love them.
Katherine
Absolutely addicting! I crave them for a late night snack!


Gift Certificates